Presidential Letter from ISARP President Karen W. Hegland, PhD

Dear ISARP Members:


I continue to feel deeply honored to serve as the President of the International Society for the Advancement of Respiratory Psychophysiology (ISARP). As many of you know, the board decided last year to switch to a two-year term for the president.  I am excited to continue this role, particularly now that I have an entire year of experience under my belt. I would like to thank the 2016-2017 ISARP board members for their service and guidance, including Alicia Meuret (past-president), Michelle Troche (Secretary-Treasurer), Bernhard Dahme (senior ISARP member), Bruce Miller (Member at Large), Paul Lehrer (Corporation Issues), and Thomas Janssens (Student Representative). I am also happy to welcome Sarah Perry, who will serve as Secretary-Treasurer Associate in 2017. The board voted during the Fall 2016 meeting to create this ‘associate’ position in order to better assist our Secretary-Treasurer in the many, many responsibilities of the position.

This year, ISARP will hold it’s 24th annual meeting, September 15 – 17, 2017, in beautiful Lille, France. We will be sending out save-the-dates in the next few weeks. Conference co-chairs Cécile Chenivesse and Elke Vleminx have been working hard to secure an event location, identify distinguished invited speakers, plan symposia, and, of course, organize our social events. I am very much looking forward to the meeting and having the opportunity to share knowledge and research, establish collaborations, and continue to foster our multidisciplinary organization. Be on the look-out for the upcoming call for papers, and start planning to submit an abstract or two! 

The past meeting in Seattle, Washington, was such a wonderful event and this is due in large part to the efforts of conference chair Nino Ramirez, along with the other members of the planning committee. They deserve huge accolades for a successful meeting. Some highlights of that meeting included two distinguished keynote speakers, rigorous scientific paper presentations, and of course good food, colleagues and friends.


Going forward, I would like to suggest that we focus this year on our students and junior investigators by encouraging senior investigators to volunteer to participate in the mentorship program. If you have not participated in this program, either as a junior or senior member, please consider doing so this year. As well, please encourage your students and trainees to submit abstracts for the conference. It is, in my opinion, an ideal venue for new or newer investigators to present research due to the congenial yet rigorous nature of the meeting.

Another area of focus is to encourage more clinicians to participate in and contribute to the meetings. At our business meeting we, as a group, expressed the desire to increase the representation of medical doctors (MDs), as well as other clinicians such as speech therapists, occupational therapists, and physical therapists. This is very important to bridge the ‘bench to bedside’ gap and ensure our valuable research endeavors are able to improve the quality and quantity of life for people suffering with various respiratory-related diseases, conditions, and/or deficits. So, please encourage your physician, or other clinician, colleagues to submit abstracts for the meeting!

Finally, I want to remind everyone that we decided as a group to move our membership dues deadline to June 1st, and that there will be a $10 (USD) late fee for people who do not pay dues by that date. As well, we have also added an option to pay for 2-years’ membership instead of just one at a time. These changes will allow us to more accurately plan for the expenses associated with our annual meeting, as well as the awards and scholarships we are able to offer our students and trainees. There will be reminder email sent closer to the due date. Thank you all so much for your understanding and help with this!!  

I very much look forward to seeing everyone in September!


All my best,

Karen Heglund
ISARP President, 2017

 Donec consectetur, odio eget porta varius, orci mauris viverra ante, eget egestas turpis sapien vel orci.